Vegan White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

Now, I don’t normally like to start a post with a negative thought but this is necessary:  I hate aggressively dislike when people think vegan baking = tastes like dirt.  And even worse are the people who do not try something because it’s vegan!  Vegan baking can be so good!!!!  SO GOOD!  I’m not even a vegan and I mainly cook and bake vegan because it’s delicious (not to mention easier on my digestive system).

Ok now some positive vibes!

Slight crunch on the outside, soft yet chewy on the inside…. these cookies are heaven in your mouth!  Purely divine, especially when eaten sitting on the couch while watching Raging Bull (this was me night last night and p.s. Such a good movie!!).

These cookies would also make a great going away gift to a husband who is going away for a month and  a half to work in a city 7 hours away (again a reality for me *tear*).  Ladies, if your man is going away for awhile you must send him away with something to remember just what a wonderful lady he has at home.  These cookies are just one of the things that will remind him of this.

I’ve made these cookies a few times now and it is my absolute favorite cookie recipe.  Perfectly customized to my preferences! You can customize it to your liking with the add-ins too.  Use dark chocolate chunks and dried cherries, dried apricots and pumpkin seeds….. the options are endless!  The only requirement here is that you must make them! Oh and you must use the brown rice syrup and the cornstarch-these are the keys to chewyness!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies (vegan)

Dry ingredients:

4 cups flour

4 tsp cornstarch

2 tsp baking soda

1 cup sugar

1½ tsp salt

Wet ingredients:

½ cup maple syrup

½ cup brown rice syrup

4 tsp vanilla

1 cup canola oil

Add-ins: Your choice!  I used white chocolate chunks and roasted, salted macadamia nuts (sweet and salty, oh yeah!)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease cookie sheet, or use silicone baking sheet.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.

3. Combine wet ingredients in a medium bowl or a big liquid measure. Mix till combined.

4.  Add wet mixture to dry and stir till just about combines.  Throw in your add-ins and finish mixing.  This dough is a little on the crumbly side but trust me, these cookies bake up beautifully-not dry at all!!

5. Make dough balls about the size of golf balls and flatten on cookie sheet.  Don’t worry about placing them too close together, these beauties don’t spread that much.

6. Bake for about 10 minutes.  They get a little golden on the bottom but don’t overcook.  If anything they should appear undercooked.  Remove from cookie sheet right after they come out of the oven.  Let cool on a cooling rack.  These cookies firm up to the perfect cookie texture after letting them sit for about 10 minutes.

Makes approx 30 big cookies

Enjoy!


About todayslady

I'm a vegetarian who loves to bake and cook.
This entry was posted in Cookies and Bars and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegan White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

  1. Your cookies look delicious! I love vegan baking too! I like to tell people the treat is vegan after they have eaten it and already tell me how good it was. That way they won’t skip it just because they think its vegan. A little trickery never hurt anyone. :)

  2. Emily says:

    I completely agree! Vegan baking can be so good! These cookies look great.

    I’ve been thinking about giving up dairy completly. I already drink soy/almond milk. I’ve noticed that cheese really doesn’t make me feel well.

  3. Ѽ HefiA says:

    White chocolate macadamia cookies are my hubby’s favorite!!! Yumm! Thanks :)

  4. Yummmmm!!! I’ve never had a cookie like this before but I sure would love to try one! I have some white chocolate…now I just need some macadamias and I’m all set! :)

Leave a Reply

